Formerly "European Superconductivity News Forum (ESNF)"
Joint publication of the IEEE Council on Superconductivity (CSC) and
the European Society for Applied Superconductivity (ESAS), with a cooperation of Editors from Asia, Australia, and New Zealand

    You are here

    • You are here:
    • Home > 2017 IEEE Max Swerdlow Awardee Announced

2017 IEEE Max Swerdlow Awardee Announced

Regularly Updated Latest News, Quarterly
Published Papers, Preprints & Presentations

The Council on Superconductivity is pleased to announce the selection of Dr. Kenichi Sato of Japan Science and Technology Agency, to receive the IEEE Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community.  This IEEE Award recognizes a career of meritorious achievements and outstanding technical contributions by a living individual in the field of applied superconductivity.

The Award will be presented to Dr. Sato during the 25th International Conference on Magnet Technology to be held in Amsterdam, the Netherlands, from August 27 through September 1, 2017. Dr. Sato will receive a plaque, an inscribed medallion, and a cash award of US $5,000.


Dr. Sato will be recognized for sustained service to the applied superconductivity community, in particular:   
  • for developing magnet-grade HTS wires and their applications to power cables, magnets and motors (1988-2016),
  • for serving as Secretary of IEC/TC90 (1989-2013), Program Officer of JST (2009-present) and Co-Editor of Superconductivity News Forum (2014-present), and
  • for serving as President of the Cryogenics and Superconductivity Society of Japan (2012-2016), and a Board Member of ICMC (2001-present).
Kenichi Sato
Dr. Kenichi Sato
Descriptions of the Award and past laureates are found on the web at http://ieeecsc.org/awards.
The SNF had 1,528 visitors in the month of September 2017,
and has had 144,167 visitors 
since its inception on July 15, 2007.