Cryogenic Society of America (CSA) Awards

July 16, 2013 (PA14). On June 20, 2013, at the CEC/ICMC 2013 Meeting held in Anchorage, Alaska, US, the Cryogenic Society of America (CSA) presented the following awards, which had been established to honor persons who have contributed to the industry and to the Society in a variety of ways.

Robert W. Vance Award

The Robert W. Vance Award was established to honor persons for their dedication and long-term commitment to the advancement of CSA. It is the first award ever given by the Society.

The 2013 Robert W. Vance Award was given to:



Louis J. Salerno, retired, NASA Ames Research Center

A long-term contributor to the Cryogenic Society of America, Salerno is a Lifetime Member, a former president of the Society, a founder of the Northern California chapter, a major donor to the Award for Excellence in Cryogenics Research, the chair of the 1999 Space Cryogenic Workshop, and instigated the merger of the Space Cryogenic Workshop into the Society. In the spirit of Robert W. Vance, Salerno's years of dedicated service have significantly benefited the CSA in many ways.

Fellow of the Cryogenic Society of America

Fellows of the Cryogenic Society of America are persons of distinction in cryogenics, and shall have made notable valuable contributions to the field of cryogenics. Such contributions need not be in research, however they must be of significant magnitude so as to justify the honor of Fellow.

The 2013 Fellows of the Cryogenic Society of America are:



Thomas Peterson, Group Leader, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

For his outstanding contributions in the design, construction and operation of large scale helium cryogenics systems (SRF cryomodules, feed boxes, distribution and magnet systems) used in scientific research as well as for his many contributions as a long-time member of CSA and to the cryogenic community as an educator, reviewer and editor.



Prof. John Pfotenhauer, University of Wisconsin-Madison

For his contributions as a long-time CSA member and former board member, who has actively pursued and promoted cryogenics for more than 25 years. His group's courses on cryogenics and superconductivity at the University of Wisconsin are one of the largest producers of MS students in cryogenics in the US. For his extensive publications on both fundamental and applied research in cryocoolers and particularly pulse tube cryocoolers, and having developed a computer game that students use to develop their understanding of cryogenic insulation and cooling. For his international educational contributions and services as reviewer and editor.