ESAS PRIZES 2011

PA5 (October 13, 2011). ESAS awards biannually three prizes to researchers under the age of 30 for outstanding work presented in person by poster or orally during the EUCAS Conference. One prize is awarded in each of the three subject areas of UCAS: **Electronics**, **Large Scale Applications**, and **Materials**. The main criteria for the award of these prizes are the originality of the work and the general quality of the poster or oral presentation. Each prize-winner receives a printed certificate and a monetary award. In 2011, these awards were presented to the winners on the last day of the Superconductivity Centennial Conference, of which EUCAS was part. For the first time, each of the three awards was split between two winners, who were judged equally meritorious. Below we present the winners including their affiliations and titles of the awarded presentations. The photos were taken during the presentation ceremony on September 23, 2011. A short resume of each winner can be viewed by clicking on the respective name.

• The Electronics Prize

Pieter J. DE VISSER

SRON National Institute for Space Research, Sorbonnelaan Utrecht Awarded for the poster 4-EA-P51:

"Quasiparticle number fluctuations in superconducting microwave resonators" and

Akira ENDO

Kavli Institute of NanoScience, Faculty of Applied Sciences, Delft Awarded for the poster 4-EA-P52:

"Design of an On-Chip Filterbank Spectrometer Based on Superconducting Microresonators for Submillimeter Wave Astronomy".



Fig. 1. The awardees of the Electronics Prize, Pieter de Visser (second from the left) and Akira Endo (first from the right). Between the winners stands Xavier Obradors, the ESAS President, who handed over the Prize Certificates; at the far left is Pascal Tixador, the ESAS Secretary.

• The Materials Prize

Matthias G. T. MENTINK

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, CA, USA University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands Awarded for the contributed oral presentation 4-MB-012:

"The effect of Cu, Ta, and Ti additions on the strain sensitivity of bulk Niobium-Tin"

and

Marta VILARDELL

Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona Awarded for the contributed oral presentation 4-MB-04:

"Novel inkjet printing methodologies for YBa2Cu3O7-x film growth and patterning".



Fig. 2. The awardees of the Materials Award, Marta Vilardell (first from the left) and Matthias Mentink (second from the right), with Xavier Obradors, the ESAS President, and Pascal Tixador, the ESAS Secretary (far right).

The Large Scale Applications Prize

Mark AINSLIE

University of Cambridge, UK Awarded for the poster 2-WT-P06:

"Improved modelling and measurement of transport AC loss in superconducting coils"

and

Antti STENVALL

Tampere University of Technology Awarded for the poster 2-LG-P47:

"The effect of twisting on superconductor self-field critical current".



Fig. 3. The awardees of the Large Scale Applications Prize, Mark Ainslie (second from the Iright) and Antti Stenvall (far left), with Xavier Obradors, the ESAS President, and Pascal Tixador, the ESAS Secretary (far right).