You are here

    • You are here:
    • Home > Prizes to Be Presented at the M2S Conference 2012

Prizes to Be Presented at the M2S Conference 2012

Prizes to Be Presented at the M2S Conference 2012

July 17, 2012 (PA7).  Three Prizes will be presented at the upcoming M2S 2012 Conference: The Bernd T. Matthias Prize, the John Bardeen Prize and the Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize.  The M2S Conference will be held in Washington, D.C., USA, from July 29th to August 3rd, 2012.  The 2012 Prize winners were announced today.

  • The Bernd T. Matthias Prize is awarded in recognition of innovative contributions to the material aspects of superconductivity. The Prize is sponsored by the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston,

    The 2012 Prize Winners are: Ivan Božović and James N. Eckstein - for their pioneering and sustained contributions to the novel synthesis and engineering of superconducting materials.  The third awardee is Dirk Johrendt - for his role in the discoveries of superconductivity in (Ba,K)Fe2Se2 and related materials that have helped further the research of Fe-based superconductors.

  • The John Bardeen Prize is awarded for theoretical work that has provided significant insights on the nature of superconductivity and has led to verifiable predictions.  The Prize is sponsored by the Friends of Bardeen, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. 

    The 2012 Prize Winners are: Steven A. Kivelson - for his work on the role of phase fluctuations and on the interplay between unconventional superconductivity and electronic inhomogeneity, James A. Saulsand Chandra M. Varma for their works on the identification of the pairing symmetry, pairing mechanism, and multiple superconducting phases in heavy-fermion superconductors.

  • The Heike Kamerlingh Onnes Prize is awarded for outstanding experiments that illuminate the nature of superconductivity (other than materials work).  The Prize is sponsored by Elsevier, Publisher of Physica C - Superconductivity and its Applications.  

    The 2012 Prize Winners are: Øystein H. Fischer for leadership in magnetic superconductors and pioneering STM studies in the cuprate high-Tc materials, Teunis M. Klapwijk for seminal experiments on the superconducting properties of superconductor-ferromagnet and superconductor-normal metal nano- structures, and Herbert A. Mook, Jr. for several decades of important neutron spectroscopy and diffraction experiments on superconductors, especially those with magnetic tendencies.

We expect to report in more detail on these awards after the M2S Conference.  At present we congratulate all of the Awardees on their new distinction.