Post Type

ESAS-2021 Award Bestowed upon Pierre Védrine

2 years 8 months ago
Share on:

The 2021 ESAS Award for Excellence 

The ESAS Board is pleased to announce that the 2021 ESAS Award for Excellence in Applied Superconductivity is presented to our esteemed colleague Dr. Pierre Védrine from The French Alternative Energies and Atomic Energy Commission (CEA) Institute of Research into the Fundamental Laws of the Universe (IRFU), Saclay, France.

Pierre Védrine

The 2021 ESAS Award for Excellence in Applied Superconductivity is bestowed to Dr. Pierre Védrine to acknowledge his outstanding contribution to the development of ground-breaking superconducting magnets for high-energy physics and medical applications, implementing novel technologies, and accompanied by responsible leadership in cooperation with major research centres.

Dr. Pierre Védrine has developed fundamental insight and understanding of superconductivity and cryogenics, realized in unique magnetic systems. His excellent contribution to applied superconductivity has been recently crowned by the successful operation of the 11.7 T- MRI whole-body system for ISEULT, a marvel of magnet engineering, which has the potential to facilitate a new understanding of the functioning of the brain and has established new performance limits for this life-saving superconducting technology.

The award consists of a commemorative plaque, a certificate of recognition and a cheque for €5,000.

ESAS General Assembly

The Award for Excellence was awarded to Dr. Pierre Védrine at the General Assembly, which took place online on Thursday 9 September at 15:00-16:00 (London) / 16:00-17:00 (Paris) / 17:00-18:00 (Moscow) as part of EUCAS 2021. In addition to the announcement, Dr. Védrine gave a short address.