Horst Rogalla

Horst Rogalla

National Institute of Standards & Technology (NIST)
IEEE Region
Region 05 (Southwestern U.S.)

Contact Menu

Dr. Horst Rogalla was appointed as an IEEE CSC Distinguished Lecturer in 2013. Dr. Rogalla was born in Germany in 1947, studied physics and mathematics in Münster and did his habilitation in Giessen, both in Germany. After 2 years in the group of Prof. Tinkham in Harvard, he accepted in 1987 a professorship in Low-Temperature Physics at the University of Twente in the Netherlands from which he retired recently.

In his time at the University of Twente, he was Director of the Material Science Institute CMO for a number of years and a founding member of the MESA+ micro-/nano-technology institute. In the European Community, he was a member of the board of the Network of Excellence in Superconductivity SCENET and director of the European Network PiShift. He was a founding member of the European Society of Applied Superconductivity ESAS and the European Foundry Network FLUXONICS. He also organized major conferences in Superconductivity and Superconducting Electronics and many national and international workshops. Currently, he is a Research Professor at the University of Colorado and a scientist at NIST.

In his scientific career, he worked on the materials' properties of superconductors, their deposition as thin films and their application in Superconducting Electronics. Before the finding of High-Temperature Superconductivity (HTS), he worked on the application of Nb3Ge nano bridge Josephson-junctions in Superconducting Electronics operated in liquid hydrogen. After the finding of HTS, he invented the HTS ramp-type Josephson junction and developed with his co-workers in Twente an HTS integration technique, which resulted in superconducting circuits with up to 4 superconducting layers. This technique was successfully applied to HTS Superconducting Electronics devices. Later on, he was involved among others in the development of sd-wave Josephson junctions based on Nb/YBCO ramp-type junctions, which allowed to realize and apply π- Josephson junctions, in the development of integrated micro-coolers and the application of Nb-based Josephson junctions in highly sensitive magnetic sensors for biomagnetism and gravitation wave detectors.

Currently, he is working on noise thermometry using normal and superconducting electronics and also on arrays of YBCO split-ring resonators for cloaking applications.

He is a long-time member of the IEEE receiving the IEEE Max Swerdlow Award for Sustained Service to the Applied Superconductivity Community in 2011. In 2013,  he was awarded an honorary lifetime voting membership on the board of the European Society of Applied Superconductivity (ESAS).

IEEE CSC - SNF Position History:
  • 2015-2022   Editor-in-Chief (Committee|Chapter Chairs & Representatives)
  • 2015-2022   Editor-in-Chief (CSC Administrative Committee)
  • 2015-2022   Editor-in-Chief (Editorial Team)
  • 2015-2020   Associate Editors Electronics (IEEE TAS Editorial Staff)
  • 2015-2020   Associate Editors Electronics (Editorial Team)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.